Skip to main content

L&S LessonShare 1.0: Approve or Delete a user account

August 29, 2013 by Sue Weier

This page applies to the first generation of LessonShare websites: Dutch, Classics, English 201, English Literature, French, German, Italian and Russian. It does not apply to the African, Statistics, or English 100 Lessonshares.

If someone with a NetID visits one of the LessonShare websites, an account is automatically created and an email is sent to the department contact for that website.  The account doesn't have access to any content until the department contact makes it a valid site user.  If the account was made in error, it can be deleted.   

These instructions can only be performed by the designated department contact.  If you think you should be able to do this but can't, contact Steel Wagstaff (swagstaff@wisc.edu).

Working with user accounts:

If you receive an email notifying you of a new user account, note the NetID in the email. Determine if this is a new user that should have access or just someone that accidentally entered the site.

  1. Log into your Lessonshare website.
  2. Click on Administer->User Management->Users.  You'll see a list of users under a dropdown menu titled Update Options
  3. Click the checkbox for the appropriate user.
  4. From the dropdown menu, select the appropriate action:
  • Delete the selected users. 
  • Add a role to the selected user.  Adding the proper role will give this person access to the website.  For most sites, this is the "site_user" role.  For Russian, it's either "upper-level user" or "lower-level user" role.

Click Update to save the change.

 

 

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes